Forums
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 244 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 17  Next
 Post subject: The High Speed Rail boondoggle
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:37 pm 
Rodger's Ridge

Yep, the boondoggle has begun! I'm actually a fan of high speed rail. It seems like most 1st world countries have it EXCEPT the US. Here we consider anything over 90mph to be "high speed" when in other countries they run trains at 200mph or more. Even though I'm a fan of HSR I'm not a proponent of the proposed HSR in California for a variety of reasons: it makes no sense to go from San Diego to Riverside to get to LA. A straight shot that goes from SD to LA in less than an hour would be fantastic, anything else is a waste of time. A train that goes from LA to Sacramento instead of the Bay Area is just plain DUMB.

Anyway, the reason I started this thread is because of the news article today:

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Building tracks for the first section of California's proposed high-speed rail line will cost $2.9 billion to $6.8 billion more than originally estimated, raising questions about the affordability of the nation's most ambitious rail project at a time when its planning and finances are under fire.

A 2009 business plan developed for the California High-Speed Authority, the entity overseeing the project, estimated costs at about $7.1 billion for the equivalent stretch of tracks. Officials say those estimates were made before detailed engineering work and feedback from communities along the proposed route.

So now it's looking like it could end up costing up to $14 BILLION to build about 140 miles of track. Can we really afford to build that? Is there demand for that? What's the ROI???

At this rate the entire project will end up cost a quarter of a TRILLION dollars. This project should be killed now before we waste anymore money on it!

http://www.signonsandiego.com/news/2011 ... ost-soars/